Adelaide United announce ALW leadership group

AUFC membership 23/24 sign up now

Isabel Hodgson will again captain Adelaide United’s Liberty A-League side for the 2023/24 season.

Hodgson, who made her debut during the 2013/14 campaign has made 74 appearances and scored four goals so far.

The 27-year-old will be supported by vice-captains Dylan Holmes and Maruschka Waldus.

At 26, Holmes is one of the more experienced players in the side, having previously captained the club in the 2020-21 season in her own right.

With 70 Liberty A-League games and five goals under her belt across three stints at United, the midfielder recently re-signed with the club until 2025.

The capped Matilda was also awarded the 2023 Dianne Alagich Medal as the club’s Liberty A-League best and fairest player.

Waldus, 31, has scored three goals in her 29 appearances in Red, and is also a past winner of the Dianne Alagich Medal for the 2020/21 season.

The Dutch national has played all around the globe, and in recent times she featured for PSV Women in the 2021/22 Champions League Final against Arsenal.

With Hodgson and Waldus currently on their way back from respective injuries, Holmes will lead the side in its Liberty A-League season opener against Canberra United at Coopers Stadium from 2:30pm on Sunday afternoon.

Tickets for the game can be purchased here, with prices starting at just $5.00 for children under the age of 12.

Adelaide United Captains:

Dianne Alagich (2008–2009)
Christina Papageorgiou (2009–2011)
Abby Erceg (2011–2013)
Kristy Moore (2013–2015)
Marijana Rajcic (2015–2016)
Stella Rigon (2016–2017)
Emma Checker (2017–2019)
Amber Brooks (2019–2020)
Dylan Holmes (2020–2021)
Isabel Hodgson (2021–present)