Isabel Hodgson named Reds Captain

Isabel Hodgson

Adelaide United is delighted to announce Isabel Hodgson has been officially appointed the Club’s new Captain of our Liberty A-League side ahead of the 2021/22 season.

Hodgson becomes the 10th Captain to lead the team in Reds’ history, joining the likes of Dianne Alagich, Christina Papageorgiou, Emma Checker and Dylan Holmes to have worn the armband.

The 25-year-old, who made her debut during the 2013/14 campaign, enters her seventh season with the Club and has accumulated 45 appearances and scored four goals.

Hodgson will be joined by fellow local South Australians and vice-captains, Matilda McNamara, Emily Condon, and Chelsie Dawber who will make up the leadership group.

Speaking on being awarded the captaincy, Hodgson said she was incredibly proud and grateful for the opportunity.

“I’m extremely honoured to be named Adelaide United’s new Captain,” she said.

“I want to thank Adrian (Stenta) for giving me the chance to lead the team this season and it is something I feel I’m more than ready to do.

“This is a very exciting moment for me in my career and one that I do not take for granted.

“I’m confident we can enjoy a successful year as we try and push towards a maiden finals appearance.”

From left to right: Emily Condon, Isabel Hodgson, Chelsie Dawber and Matilda McNamara make up our leadership team.

Adelaide United’s Liberty A-League Head Coach, Adrian Stenta, said: “We’re very proud to have Isabel wear the armband and be our new Captain.

“Isabel has been a steadfast player in this team for a number of years now and I believe she was the best player for this role.

“Isabel has all the characteristics to become a successful leader.

“She will be accompanied by Matilda McNamara, Emily Condon, and Chelsie Dawber, which make up our leadership team.”

Adelaide United Captains:

Dianne Alagich (2008–2009)
Christina Papageorgiou (2009–2011)
Abby Erceg (2011–2013)
Kristy Moore (2013–2015)
Marijana Rajcic (2015–2016)
Stella Rigon (2016–2017)
Emma Checker (2017–2019)
Amber Brooks (2019–2020)
Dylan Holmes (2020–2021)
Isabel Hodgson (2021–present)