Adelaide United announces Alagich Vidmar Awards 2021

Adelaide United - Awards Night release

Alagich Vidmar Awards 2021

Adelaide United is delighted to announce the Club’s annual awards event will be jointly renamed the Alagich Vidmar Awards, paying homage to our maiden female and male captains of the Club.

The Westfield W-League Player of the Year will now be renamed to the Dianne Alagich Award in honour of our inaugural Westfield W-League Captain.

Alagich, the sister of United legend, Richie, played all 10 matches for the Club during the maiden 2008/09 campaign and scored three goals in 86 caps for the Matildas between 1995 and 2008.

The most valuable player during the A-League season will remain in honour of Aurelio Vidmar, who was the first Reds player to captain and coach the Club.

This year’s iteration of the Alagich Vidmar Awards will take place on Tuesday, 15 June at Bowden’s newest space, Plant 3, from 6.30pm.

Adelaide United Women’s inaugural Westfield W-League Captain, Dianne Alagich, said it was a privilege to have the Club’s most prestigious female award named after her.

“It is the biggest honour I have received in football to have my name honoured in this way and alongside Aurelio (Vidmar),” Alagich said.

“I feel privileged that I was able to play and captain Adelaide United in the inaugural W-League season.

“The club, past and present players and the supporters have played such an important part of my family’s life and I really am deeply honoured.” 

Alagich Vidmar Awards 2021

Adelaide United Chief Executive Officer, Nathan Kosmina, said: “Jointly renaming our awards ceremony is something we felt as a Club was necessary and long overdue.

“Our awards nights have always consisted of both A-League and Westfield W-League accolades, so it is a timely rebrand of the event that reflects the achievements of both our men’s and women’s teams.

“Naming the most valuable female footballer after one of South Australia’s most decorated female footballers in Dianne Alagich was imperative and supports what is a renewed focus on respecting our past.

“We’re looking forward to a night of celebration as we recognise our top female and male footballers during what has been a challenging yet extremely successful year for the club.”

In addition to the Dianne Alagich and Aurelio Vidmar Awards, other accolades during the evening will include: the Westfield W-League and A-League Rising Stars, the respective Members’ Player of the Year and Golden Boot awards, the Youth Player of the Year Award and the Remo Paris Club Person of the Year.

Click here to purchase tickets while members, who wish to attend, will need to check their email for their discount code.

Alagich Vidmar Awards 2021