Cirio named Reds’ Club Champion


Adelaide United Spanish forward, Sergio Cirio, has taken out the Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion Award for Season 10 in the Hyundai A-League.

The Reds celebrated the highs of their season at a gala event at the Sanctuary, Adelaide Zoo on Friday night, where inaugural captain, Aurelio Vidmar, made the announcement of the Club Champion.

In his second season for the Reds, Cirio had what was one, according to him, his best football season so far in his career. The 30 year old started every game this season in both the Hyundai A-League and FFA Cup campaigns, the only player to do so. He also won the inaugural Westfield FFA Cup and was awarded the Mark Viduka Medal for being the most outstanding player in that final.


“Firstly, it’s a honor to win this award for such a great club!” Cirio said. 

“I want to say thank you to every one of my teammates, because I couldn’t have done it without you.

“Also thank you to the club for giving me the opportunity to play here in Australia, and of course, to my partner Laura because she follows and supports me everywhere I go.”

Sergio Cirio’s performances also earned him the accolade of The Advertiser/Channel Seven Golden Boots Player of the Year.

Inspirational defender Tarek Elrich, who was second in the voting, capped off his stellar season as he claimed three awards for the night, the Best Team Man, Player’s Player Award as well as the ‘We Are The Reds’ Fans Player Of The Year.


Following being named the 2014/15 NAB Young Footballer of Year at the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 Awards night, Jimmy Jeggo took out the club’s Rising Star Award.

Jimmy Jeggo - NAB Award

For the Youth Team, striker Dylan Smith took out the Youth Team Highest Goal Scorer with 9 goals, while the Youth Team Most Valuable Player (MVP) went to Oliver Zafiridis.



Adelaide United 2014/15 Award Winners

Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion – Sergio Cirio
A panel of judges has voted for the winner of this award at the completion of each game played based the following criteria; made a significant positive difference to the team’s performance during the games played, and represented the club in an exemplary way on the field of play.

Player’s Player – Tarek Elrich
Voted by his team mates to be consistently the most valuable player on the park, sets standards on and off the park that all players in the team aspire to and best exemplifies their ideal type of player.

Best Team Man – Tarek Elrich
A panel of judges has voted the winner of this award as a player who exemplifies on and off the park the culture, values and morals that all members of the squad can aspire to, has shown themselves to consistently put their needs second to that of the team and has never complained about making a sacrifice.

Rising Star – Jimmy Jeggo
A young player who was voted by a panel of judges to have made a significant impact over the season, demonstrated the greatest growth in their development as a professional player and promises the greatest potential growth as a professional player.

‘We Are The Reds Forum’ Fans Player of the Year – Tarek Elrich
Voted by Reds Fans on the We Are The Reds Fourm as to be consistently the most valuable player on the park.

Youth Team Most Valuable Player – Oliver Zafiridis
A player who consistently made a significant positive difference to the team’s performance during the games played and portrays a totally professional attitude to everything he did on the park throughout the season.

Youth Team Highest Goal Scorer – Dylan Smith
A player who scores the most number of goals throughout the season.

Adelaide United – Previous Award Winners
Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion 

2013/14 Isaías, 2012/13 Dario Vidosic, 2011/12 Zenon Caravella, 2010/11 Cassio, 2009/10 Eugene Galekovic, 2008/09 Eugene Galekovic, 2007/08 Cassio, 2006/07 Jason Spagnuolo, 2005/06 Carl Veart, 2003/04 Richie Alagich

Player’s Player
2013/14 Marcelo Carrusca, 2012/13 Eugene Galekovic, 2011/12 Eugene Galekovic, 2010/11 Marcos Flores, 2009/10 Eugene Galekovic, 2008/09 Eugene Galekovic, 2007/08 Cassio, 2006/07 Jason Spagnuolo, 2005/06 Michael Valkanis, 2003/04 Richie Alagich

Best Team Man
2013/14 Osama Malik, 2012/13 Bruce Djite, 2011/12 Nigel Boogaard, 2010/11 Adam Hughes, 2009/10 Fabian Barbiero, 2008/09 Fabian Barbiero, 2007/08 Shaun Ontong, 2006/07 Robert Cornthwaite, 2005/06 Matthew Kemp, 2003/04 Michael Valkanis

Rising Star
2013/14 Jordan Elsey, 2012/13 Awer Mabil, 2011/12 Osama Malik, 2010/11 Iain Ramsay, 2009/10 Mathew Leckie, 2008/09 Scott Jamieson, 2007/08 Bruce Djite, 2006/07 Nathan Burns, 2005/06 Adam van Dommele, 2003/04 Aaron Goulding

‘We Are The Reds Forum’ Fans Player of the Year
2013/14 Marcelo Carrusca, 2012/13 Dario Vidosic

Youth Team Most Valuable Player
2013/14 Dion Kirk, 2012/13 Awer Mabil, 2011/12 Jordan Elsey, 2010/11 Allan Welsh, 2009/10 Dane Milovanovic, 2008/09 Michael Marrone