Four memorable home wins over Perth


Adelaide United vs Perth Glory tickets

As Adelaide United take on Perth Glory at Coopers Stadium here are four memorable home victories in the Hyundai A-League to get you in the mood.

3-1 win – 13/10/13 @ Coopers Stadium

Jeronimo Adelaide United vs Perth Glory 2013

The opening day of the 2013/14 campaign saw Adelaide produce a 3-1 win over the Glory. Jerónimo scored on nine minutes with a sliding finish before Perth hit back through Ryo Nagai.

But the Argentine tapped home into an empty net midway during the first-half to restore Adelaide’s advantage. In the second stanza, Fábio Ferreira got on the scoresheet beating his opponent to the ball and cleverly poking in Michael Zullo’s cross on the half-volley.

2-0 win – 24/09/10 @ Hindmarsh Stadium

Serginho Van Dijk Adelaide United vs Perth Glory 2010

After an impressive seven match unbeaten start to the 2010/11 season, Adelaide were out to maintain their scintillating form. It was a tightly contested affair with the match scoreless at the break until Sergio van Dijk scored twice within three minutes.

The Dutch-born Indonesian broke parity with a sensational header. With Joe Keenan’s cross just behind him, the talismanic striker adjusted expertly to nod the ball over Tando Velaphi in emphatic fashion. Moments later, van Dijk put the result beyond doubt when he calmly slotted a penalty in the 73rd minute.

2-1 win – 26/10/08 @ Hindmarsh Stadium

Travis Dood Adelaide United vs Perth Glory 2008

The Reds fell behind in the second-half after Nikita Rukavytsya beat Mark Birighitti on the angle at the near post with a left-footed finish. Still trailing in the Round 9 fixture, substitute Robert Younis was brought on to provide a spark on the wing and he duly delivered.

The then 23-year-old combined well on the left flank before swinging in a cross which found Alemão and he smashed home his effort from inside six-yards on 79 minutes. The comeback was completed soon after when Travis Dodd converted a spot-kick, after a foul on Lucas Pantelis.

3-2 win – 05/11/06 @ Hindmarsh Stadium

Carl Veart and Matt Kemp Adelaide United vs Perth Glory 2006

Adelaide’s Round 11 match with Perth proved to be a see-sawing encounter. Mimi Saric gave the visitors the lead with a clinical finish into the bottom right corner. The advantage was fleeting though as Carl Veart equalised from the spot two minutes later. Not long after Adelaide went in front when Travis Dodd exhibited exceptional wing play on the right flank and then squared the ball across to Greg Owens, dispatching his first-time effort past the goalkeeper.

But it would end all-square at half-time as Bobby Despotovski slotted a penalty in the 45th minute. After the re-start, Veart’s shot deflected out to Matthew Kemp, who on the angle lobbed the ball over the stranded gloveman to seal all three points.

Adelaide United host Perth Glory in Round 19 of the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 season on Saturday, 3 February at Coopers Stadium. Kick-off is at 7.20pm ACDT.

Adelaide United vs Perth Glory tickets