Four Reds selected for Young Socceroos


Adelaide United’s youngsters, Awer Mabil, Paul Izzo, Ben Warland and Mark Ochieng have all been selected for the upcoming AFC U-19 Championship 2014.

Young Socceroos Head Coach Paul Okon today named his 23-player squad for the AFC U-19 Championship 2014 which will be held in Myanmar from 9-23 October 2014.

The bulk of Okon’s squad has been drawn from the ranks of Hyundai A-League clubs with Adelaide United the most represent team.

Okon is optimistic about his team’s chances heading into the tournament.

“We have had a good preparation leading into the tournament with a number of tours and camps where we have faced quality opposition,” said Okon.

“We fly out tomorrow for a pre-tournament camp in Thailand where our overseas-based players will join us. This will allow us to acclimatise to similar conditions we will face in Myanmar and put the finishing touches on our game plan.

“Our goal is to qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup and to achieve this goal we will need to string together four quality performances,” concluded Okon.

One of the Red’s youngsters, Mark Ochieng, expressed his exciting after being told he was selected in the squad.

“I’m very excited that I’ve been selected, I’m really looking forward to it,” said Ochieng.

“Even though I will miss the first couple of A-League games, I know it will be a good experience for us four.

“My training and playing with the first team and being around experienced players have helped me a lot. I learn from them and my coaches, especially Josep Gombau.

“I just can’t wait for the tournament to begin, with the aim to qualify for next year’s FIFA U-20 World Cup.”

The Young Socceroos have been placed in Group B and will face the United Arab Emirates in their first match of the tournament on Friday 10 October, followed by Indonesia on Sunday 12 October and then Uzbekistan in their final group match on Tuesday 14 October.

The top two teams from Group B will then advance to the quarter-finals where they will face the top two teams from Group A (Myanmar, I.R. Iran, Thailand or Yemen) on Friday 17 September. The winner of the Quarter-Finals will not only advance to the Semi-Finals stage of the competition, but will also qualify for the 2015 FIFA U-20 World Cup which will be held in New Zealand from 30 May – 20 June.

Young Socceroos Squad – AFC U-19 CHAMPIONSHIP 2014 – Myanmar – 9-23 October 2014
Daniel Alessi (Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia)
Shannon Brady (Brisbane Roar FC, Australia)
Brandon Borrello (Brisbane Roar FC, Australia)
Anthony Bouzanis (gk) (Sydney FC, Australia)
Jordan Brown (Melbourne Victory, Australia)
Cameron Burgess (Fulham FC, England)
Daniel De Silva (Perth Glory, Australia)
Shayne D’Cunha (Blacktown City, Australia)
Scott Galloway (Melbourne Victory, Australia)
Hagi Gligor (Sydney FC, Australia)
Chris Ikonomidis (SS Lazio, Italy)
Paul Izzo (gk) (Adelaide United, Australia)
Awer Mabil (Adelaide United, Australia)
Stefan Mauk (Melbourne City FC, Australia)
Dylan Murnane (Melbourne Victory, Australia)
Christopher Naumoff (Sydney FC, Australia)
Marc Ochieng (Adelaide United, Australia)
Liam Rose (Central Coast Mariners, Australia)
Peter Skapetis (Stoke City FC, England)
Jaushua Sotirio (Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Australia)
Jordan Thurtell (gk) (Perth Glory, Australia)
Benjamin Warland (Adelaide United, Australia)
Riley Woodcock (Perth Glory, Australia)