Galekovic and Vidosic selected for East Asia Cup


Adelaide United’s Eugene Galekovic and Dario Vidosic have both been named in the Socceroos’ provisional squad for the upcoming EAFF East Asian Cup.

Qantas Socceroos Head Coach Holger Osieck has named a provisional squad of 24 players for the upcoming EAFF (East Asian Football Federation) East Asian Cup tournament against Japan, China PR and Korea Republic.

Goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic and reigning Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion Dario Vidosic have both been given the nod to participate in the tournament. Australia’s squad for the East Asian Cup comprises of 19 players from the Hyundai A-League and five from Asian-based clubs.

“I-ve been working hard here at camp, and if I get my chance I-ll take it,” Galekovic said on his selection.

“This is a great opportunity for all the A-League boys to show Holger what they can do.”

The Socceroos will arrive in Seoul on Wednesday evening before playing their first match against the host nation, the Korea Republic, on Saturday 20 July (kick off 7:30pm ACST). This will be followed with their second match of the tournament against Japan on Thursday 25 July before they face China PR on Sunday 28 July.

All matches from the EAFF East Asian Cup will be broadcast live and exclusive on Fox sports.