Galekovic named Goalkeeper of the Year


Adelaide United FC captain and goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic has been named the Hyundai A-League’s best keeper for the third time.

Adelaide United FC captain and goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic has been named the Hyundai A-League-s best keeper for the third time, after he took out the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 Goalkeeper of the Year Award at the league-s Awards Night in Sydney.

In what has been a phenomenal year for the Reds- captain, Galekovic was presented with the top goalkeeping honour, adding to the two he picked up for the 2009/10 and 2010/11 seasons.

Playing every minute in the Reds- Hyundai A-League 2013/14 campaign, Galekovic was a standout between the posts, as he-s been the case since the first time he took the field for Adelaide United midway through the 2007/08 season.

The 32 year old reeled off a remarkable 80 saves and kept 8 clean sheets this season, highlighting his class and reputation as one of Australia-s best keepers.

This season Galekovic was the first Adelaide United player to celebrate 200 apperances for the club. Since joining the Reds, he has played in the AFC Champions League final, the FIFA Club World Cup in 2008 and was runner up in the 2009 A-League Grand Final. He was also awarded Socceroos status and was named in the FIFA World Cup squad for 2010 in South Africa, and after another outstanding season, there is a strong chance he could repeat the feat again in being selected for the upcoming 2014 FIFA World Cup squad in Brazil.

“Every time you win an award like this, it-s always a honour,” said Galekovic.

“This season under Josep (Gombau) has helped me with my game and the style in which I play as a keeper. It-s a credit to him and the team.

“I-ve improved, and playing as keeper/sweeper, where we play out from the back, is something I-ve now added to my game.”

Galekovic wasn-t the only Adelaide United player to take out an award on the night, with Lady Red Melissa Barbieri winning the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year and youngster Anthony Costa taking out the Foxtel National Youth League Golden Boot (Top Goal Scorer Award) with 14 goals.

The Awards Night brings the curtain down on the Reds- 2013/14 Season, as the club now turns its attention to season 2014/15. The Reds- senior squad have now officially gone on leave before returning for pre-season training on 16 June.

Hyundai A-League 2013/14 Awards
Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year): Thomas Broich – Brisbane Roar
NAB Young Footballer of the Year: Adam Taggart – Newcastle Jets
Goalkeeper of the Year: Eugene Galekovic – Adelaide United
Nike Golden Boot Award: Adam Taggart – Newcastle Jets (16 Goals)
Goal of the Year:Orlando Engelaar (Melbourne Heart, Round 24 v Central Coast Mariners)
Coach of the Year: Mike Mulvey (Brisbane Roar)
Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar?
Referee of the Year: Peter Green

Westfield W-League 2013/14 Awards
Julie Dolan Medal (Player of the Year): Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar)
Young Player of the Year: Stephanie Catley (Melbourne Victory)
Players’ Player of the Year: Jessica Fishlock (Melbourne Victory)
Golden Glove (Goalkeeper of the Year): Melissa Barbieri (Adelaide United)
Golden Boot (Top Goal Scorer Award): Jodie Taylor (Sydney FC) 10 goals
Goal of the Year: Sally Shipard (Canberra United, Round 11 v Newcastle Jets)
Coach of the Year: Alen Stajcic (Sydney FC)
Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets
Referee of the Year: Casey Reibelt

Foxtel National Youth League 2013/14 Awards
Player of the Year: Brandon Borrello (Brisbane Roar)
Golden Boot (Top Goal Scorer Award): Anthony Costa (Adelaide United) 14 Goals*
Fair Play Award: Melbourne Victory
*Not presented at Awards ceremony