JALSC members appointed


Adelaide United Chairman Greg Griffin has been selected as a member of the new Joint A-League Strategic Committee (JALSC).

Football Federation Australia (FFA) and the Hyundai A-League clubs have appointed the six members of the Joint A-League Strategic Committee (JALSC).

The JALSC will be chaired by the FFA Deputy Chairman Brian Schwartz, with fellow FFA directors Joseph Healy and Phill Wolanksi also appointed.

The Hyundai A-League clubs have appointed Adelaide United chairman Greg Griffin, Perth Glory chairman Tony Sage and Melbourne Heart chairman Peter Sidwell.

The new committee will meet every two months to make determinations on strategic and policy matters affecting the Hyundai A-League.

FFA CEO Ben Buckley welcomed the appointments to the JALSC.

“The new committee will have the right mix of skills and experience for the task of setting the strategic and policy direction of the Hyundai A-League,” said Mr Buckley.

“The JALSC will give clubs a direct say in decision-making and provide a critical insight to the challenges facing the Hyundai A-League within the overall business of football in Australia.”

The scope of matters to be considered by the JALSC will include:

  • Competition structure and policy including match schedule, season window and number of rounds
  • Revenue growth maximisation strategies and policies and strengthening the capital base of the game
  • Benchmarking analysis and financial regulation policy
  • Player contract regulations
  • Collective Bargaining Agreement framework
  • Disciplinary regulations & Grievance procedures
  • Community engagement strategies

    The formal establishment of the JALSC follows a consultation period between FFA and the clubs, which included face-to-face meetings with clubs, involving FFA Chairman Frank Lowy AC, FFA Deputy Chairman Brian Schwartz, FFA CEO Ben Buckley and Head of Hyundai A-League Lyall Gorman.

    The JALSC process was endorsed by the clubs at a meeting with the FFA Board and senior management in Sydney on 29 March. The first meeting of the JALSC is scheduled for May.