Kurz announces squad for Glory clash


Marco Kurz has announced his first squad of 2018 ahead of Adelaide United’s Round 14 trip to face Perth Glory on Friday night.

Missing from the clash will be three key starters, as Paul Izzo, Ben Garuccio and George Blackwood are away with the Olyroos for the AFC U-23 Championship in China and could be absent for up to five matches.

Moreover, midfielder, Vince Lia, has been ruled out for six weeks with a knee injury.

However, in some positive news, Baba Diawara returns to the side after recovering from a hip complaint.

Mark Ochieng, Ben Warland, Apostolos Stamatelopoulos and goalkeeper Isaac Richards have also all been promoted.

Adelaide United squad: 1.Daniel MARGUSH (gk), 2.Michael MARRONE, 4.Ben WARLAND, 5.Taylor REGAN, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.ISAÍAS (c), 9.Baba DIAWARA, 11.Johan ABSALONSEN, 12.Mark OCHIENG, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIC, 22.Ersan GÜLÜM, 23.Jordan ELSEY, 24.Jordan O’DOHERTY, 25.Apostolos STAMATELOPOULOS, 29.Ryan STRAIN, 30.Isaac RICHARDS (gk), 37.Daniel ADLUNG
**two to be omitted**

Ins: 4.Ben WARLAND (promoted), 9.Baba DIAWARA (returns from injury), 12.Mark OCHIENG (promoted), 25.Apostolos STAMATELOPOULOS (promoted), 30.Isaac RICHARDS (promoted)
Outs: 14.George BLACKWOOD (international duty), 19.Ben GARUCCIO (international duty), 20.Paul IZZO (international duty)
Unavailable: 6.Vince LIA (knee – 6 weeks), 21.Tarek ELRICH (knee – long term)

Adelaide United will face Perth Glory in Round 14 of the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 season on Friday, 5 January at nib Stadium. Kick-off is at 9.30pm ACDT.