Mells, Margush selected for Young Socceroos


Adelaide United duo, George Mells and Daniel Margush, have been selected as part of Australia’s 23-man U20 squad.

Click here to back our Champions in 2016/17 - membership footer 16/17

Football Federation Australia (FFA) has today announced Ufuk Talay as Head Coach of the Young Socceroos, Australia’s U20 National Team.

Talay has been involved in the Australian National Team structure as the assistant coach of the Australian U17 team (Joeys) and the FFA Centre of Excellence program at the Australian Institute of Sport. He replaces Paul Okon, who has been named as Head Coach of the Central Coast Mariners.

Talay will commence work immediately and will lead a 23-man squad to Bahrain for the AFF U19 Championship in Vietnam from 11-24 September 2016.

The team leaves on Tuesday (6 September) and will play matches against Cambodia (12 September), Myanmar (14 September), Indonesia (16 September), Thailand (18 September) and Laos (20 September).

The Young Socceroos will then take part in the AFC U19 Championships in Bahrain from 13-30 October 2016, where they face China PR, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan in the group stages of the 16-team tournament. The top four countries (excluding the Korea Republic) will qualify for the 2017 FIFA U20 World Cup, which will be played in the Korea Republic.

The 23-man squad for the AFF Championship is: 

  • George MELLS (Adelaide United FC)
  • Daniel MARGUSH (Adelaide United FC)
  • Keanu BACCUS (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
  • Jackson BANDIERA (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
  • George BLACKWOOD (Sydney FC)
  • Joseph CHAMPNESS (Brisbane Roar FC)
  • Patrick FLOTTMANN (Sydney FC)
  • Joshua HOPE (Melbourne Victory FC)
  • Jasmin KERANOVIC (West Bromwich Albion FC, England)
  • Steve KUZMANOVSKI (Melbourne City FC)
  • Tariq MAIA (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
  • William MUTCH (Sydney FC)
  • Connor O’TOOLE (Brisbane Roar FC)
  • Liam ROSE (Central Coast Mariners FC)
  • Dejan PANDUREVIC (Manly United – NPL)
  • Jayden PRASAD (Brisbane Roar FC)
  • Kye ROWLES (Brisbane Roar FC)
  • Lachlan SCOTT (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
  • Mario SHABOW (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
  • Yaren SOZER (Melbourne City FC)
  • George TIMOTHEOU (Sydney FC)
  • Brandon VELLA (Marconi Stallions FC)
  • Liam YOULLEY (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)