Preview: Canberra United v Adelaide United


Adelaide United have proved a formidable opponent this season, but this contest against the in-form champions shapes as a massive test of their credentials.

There are few harder gigs in the Westfield W-League than a trip to the nation’s capital to take on the typically consistent United.

After a stuttering start United have found their form big time, winning three straight to be sitting comfortably in second spot.

Canberra United are back to full strength now after a few injury concerns and players on international duty, and it is now starting to show in their cohesion on the park.

Adelaide, however, are a different kettle of fish in terms of consistency. After a stunning start to the season, they have failed to win any of their past four outings, though each match has been supremely tight.

Like Canberra, they have also enjoyed a largely injury-free campaign, and remain a hugely tough side to beat.

They will also take confidence from their most recent visit to Canberra just over a year ago when they took a 3-2 victory – their only ever win in the nation’s capital.

If they can jag a win here Adelaide will be looking good for a maiden finals berth, but  defeat will put them deep among the chasing pack.

Canberra United v Adelaide United
Saturday 12 December 2015
McKellar Park, Canberra
Local kick-off: 4pm

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #CBRvADL

Canberra United squad: 1. Lydia Williams (gk), 2. Catherine Brown, 3. Julia De Angelis, 4. Kendall Fletcher, 5. Jenna McCormick, 6. Caitlin Munoz, 7. Ellie Brush, 8. Meg McLaughlin, 11. Michelle Heyman, 13. Nicole Begg (c), 14. Ashleigh Sykes, 15. Emma Checker, 17. Veronica Perez, 18. Rebecca Kiting, 19. Nickoletta Flannery, 20. Melissa Maizels (gk)

Ins: Meg McLaughlin (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: none

Adelaide United squad: 1. Kaitlyn Savage (gk), 2. Lauren Steer, 3. Alexandra Gummer, 4. Sarah Killion, 5. Allira Toby, 6. Chantelle Ryder, 8. Emily Condon, 10. Georgia Campagnale, 11. Rosie Sutton, 12. Elizabeth Milne (c), 13. Abbigail Dahlkemper, 14. Grace Abbey, 17. Tiarn Powell, 18. Lorena Maggio, 19. Gabby Bentley, 20. Claudia Jenkins (gk)

Ins: Gabby Bentley (promoted)

Outs: none

Unavailable: Marijana Rajcic (knee – season)