Quarter Final draw and schedule


The eight clubs for the Knockout Stage of the AFC Champions League 2012 have been decided.

The eight clubs for the Knockout Stage of the AFC Champions League 2012 have been decided.

After defeating Nagoya Grampus in its knockout Round of 16 encounter, Adelaide United will join Saudi Arabian trio Al Ahli, Al Ittihad and Al Hilal, Iranian club Foolad Sepahan, Uzbekistan powerhouse Bunyodkor, plus China giants Guangzhou Evergrande and South Korea-s Ulsan Hyundai in the last eight of the prestigious Asian club competition.

With the Preliminary Stage comprising of the Group matches and Round of 16 now completed, the draw to decide the Reds- opponents for the Knockout Stage, starting with the Quarter Finals, will take place on 14 June 2012 at AFC House in Kuala Lumpur.

The format for both the Quarter and Semi Finals will be played over two legs, home and away, with the winners decided on aggregate at the end of the two matches.

The first leg of the Quarter Finals will be played on September 19 before the second leg takes place on either October 2 or 3.

For the Knockout Stage, all clubs are permitted to register a new squad of up to a maximum of 30 players, meaning Adelaide United can include new signings such as Jake Barker-Daish and Daniel Bowles for the remainder of the competition. All clubs must submit their squads for the Knockout Stage to the AFC by 11 August 2012.

Unlike the Quarter and Semi Finals, the AFC Champions League Final is a one-off single match. The Semi Finals will take place on October 24 and 31 before the Final on either the 9th or 10th of November.

Click here for all of the results up to this stage of the AFC Champions League 2012.

AFC Champions League 2012 – Quarter Finalists
Adelaide United FC (Australia), Al Ahli (Saudi Arabia), Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia), Al Ittihad (Saudi Arabia), Bunyodkor (Uzbekistan), Foolad Sepahan (Iran), Guangzhou Evergrande (China), Ulsan Hyundai (South Korea)

Knockout Stage Match Schedule
Quarter Finals – September 19, October 2/3
Semi Finals – October 24, 31
Final – November 9/10