Reds announce AFC Champions League squad


Adelaide United Head Coach, Guillermo Amor, has finalised his squad for the Reds upcoming 2017 AFC Champions League group stage campaign.

The Reds host Japanese giants Gamba Osaka at Hindmarsh Stadium on matchday one of Asia’s Premier club competition at Hindmarsh Stadium next Wednesday night.

Along with Gamba, Chinese side Jiangsu Suning as well as Korean outfit Jeju United will be Adelaide’s Group H opponents.

United’s squad includes three foreign players, Baba Diawara, Isaias and Sergio Cirio with Kim Jae-Sung selected as the Club’s Asian player under the AFC’s 3+1 rule.

Speaking on the squad, Amor said: “We are looking forward to taking part in the AFC Champions League after going through so much to qualify last season. 

“We are confident that we can be very competitive against some of the biggest teams in Asia and cannot wait for the competition to start.” 

Adelaide United squad:

  • 1.Eugene Galekovic (gk) (c)
  • 2.Michael Marrone
  • 4.Dylan McGowan
  • 5.Taylor Regan
  • 7.Kim Jae-Sung
  • 8.Isaias
  • 9.Baba Diawara
  • 11.Sergio Ciro
  • 12.Mark Ochieng
  • 13.Marc Marino
  • 14.George Mells
  • 15.Ben Warland
  • 16.Jesse Makarounas
  • 17.Nikola Mileusnic
  • 18.Riley McGree
  • 19.Ben Garuccio
  • 20.John Hall (gk)
  • 21.Tarek Elrich
  • 22.Ryan Kitto
  • 24.Jordan O’Doherty
  • 26.Lachlan Brook
  • 27.Joshua Mori
  • 28.Ryan Yates
  • 29.Ryan Strain
  • 30.Daniel Margush (gk)
  • 31.Alec Maiolo
  • 32.Paul Wilson
  • 92.Eli Babalj

Adelaide United will host Gamba Osaka in its first AFC Champions League 2017 group stage match on Wednesday, 22 February at Hindmarsh Stadium. Kick-off is at 7.30pm ACDT.