Reds down SA State Select


Adelaide United FC will head into its trial matches against A-League opponents on the back of a 3-1 win over the SA State Select Team.

Adelaide United FC will head into its five trial matches against A-League opponents on the back of a 3-1 win over the SA State Select Team last night.

In a solid hit out in what was the Reds- first competitive match in a fortnight, the only disappointing aspect for the healthy crowd at Burton being the late withdrawal of new signing Marcelo Carrusca with a slight calf problem, meaning United fans will have to wait to see the classy Argentinean in action.

With experienced trio Sergio van Dijk, Bruce Djite and Zenon Caravella also watching on from the stands, the Reds steadily worked their way into the game, maintaining possession and time on the ball a priority as the countdown to the AFC Champions League Quarter Final 1st Leg showdown with Bunyodkor on September 19 continues.

After a scoreless first half despite chances at both ends in the opening stanza, Dario Vidosic eventually broke the deadlock in the 49th minute, the midfielder-s clinical finish a fitting reward as the Reds- number 10 had posed a constant threat up to that point.

Not to be overawed, the State Team hit back in the high tempo contest, Tom Dittmar pouncing to level the scores on 57 minutes and send a message to the Reds that they would not have it all their own way.

But with five minutes left, United was back in front courtesy of an own goal before Antony Golec struck in the dying stages from a corner to make it 3-1 in favour of the Reds.

Adelaide United-s next assignment is against Melbourne Heart at Epping Stadium in Melbourne on Tuesday 21 August 2012.

Adelaide United FC 3
SA State Select 1

@ Burton Park

Adelaide United starting line-up: Eugene Galekovic (gk), Nigel Boogaard, Jon McKain, Cassio, Dario Vidosic, Daniel Bowles, Iain Ramsay, Fabian Barbiero, Iain Fyfe, Evan Kostopoulos, Jake Barker-Daish
Substitutes: Osama Malik, Fabio Ferriera, Antony Golec, Cameron Watson, Paul Izzo (gk)

SA State Select starting line-up: Luke Ostbye (gk), Chahine Noujaim, Paul Pezos, Adam LeCornu, Samuel Tsofalgar, Jace Cummins, Joel Allwright, Nicky Orr, Mathew Bouree, Tom Briscoe, Nathan Andijanto
Substitutes: Christopher Atsikbasis, Dean Kenrick, Tom Dittmar, Daniel Carter, Callam Flanagan, Charlie Bowman, Evan Kounavelis, Saranti Parissos, Ben Moore (gk)

Image courtesy of Adam Butler