Reds sign Baba Diawara to two-year deal


Adelaide United is delighted to announce star striker, Baba Diawara, has agreed to sign a two-year deal with the Club.

Diawara’s new contract means the talisman will remain with the Reds until at least the end of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 season.

The signing of Diawara signals a major step forward in strengthening the squad for next season.

The 29-year-old has scored five goals in 13 appearances since arriving at the Club in February and to have secured the services with someone of his quality and European pedigree is a crucial step forward in re-building for the Club’s new campaign.

Adelaide’s General Manager of Football, Ante Kovacevic, hailed the re-signing of Diawara.

“When we agreed to bring Baba in during the January window, we knew his potential and were always confident he could deliver. 

“In the games he’s played in this season, it’s been obvious how hard he works for the team and is a constant threat to our opposition. 

“We’re very happy Baba has agreed to stay here in Adelaide and be part of our Club moving forward.” 

The Club would also like to announce defender, Ben Warland, has also put pen-to-paper on a new two-year deal.

The 20-year-old has accumulated six appearances in his time with the Reds and put in assured performances against Melbourne Victory in Round 21 of the Hyundai A-League, and also against Gamba Osaka in Matchday 5 of the AFC Champions League. 

Meanwhile, Nikola Mileusnic and Ryan Kitto have triggered clauses in their respective contracts to extend their stay with Adelaide for a further season.

“As it stands we have 14 contracted players on our roster for the new season, which is greater than we had last season,” Kovacevic stated. 

“The re-signings of Baba, Isaías, Michael Marrone, and Taylor Regan, as well as the addition of Paul Izzo, are all positive steps in rebuilding our squad for the new campaign.” 

Adelaide United’s current squad for 2017/18 is as follows: 

Lachlan Brook, Baba Diawara, Tarek Elrich, Ben Garuccio, Isaias, Paul Izzo, Ryan Kitto, Daniel Margush, Michael Marrone, Riley McGree, Nikola Mileusnic, Jordan O’Doherty, Taylor Regan, Benjamin Warland.