Reds sign duo to finalise squad for Westfield W-League 2018/19


Adelaide United W-League membership 2018/19

Adelaide United is pleased to confirm it has signed goalkeeper, Sian McLaren, and midfielder, Meleri Mullan, for the impending Westfield W-League 2018/19 season.

McLaren provides adequate competition for shot-stopper, Sarah Willacy, who experienced a breakout season last year.

The 27-year-old formerly played with the Reds between 2008 and 2012, accumulating a total of 24 matches. She then moved to Sydney FC for the 2012/13 season and played 11 games with the Sky Blues across two seasons.

Meanwhile, Mullan joins the Reds from the FFSA’s National Training Centre (NTC) where she impressed in the local Women’s National Premier League (WNPL).

Head Coach, Ivan Karlović, said the arrival of McLaren and Mullan completes United’s roster.

“Sian is a goalkeeper with a lot of quality and her and Sarah (Willacy) will push each other to the benefit of the team,” Karlović said. “From Sian’s previous experience of playing in the Westfield W-League, she will be able help nurture the younger players in the team.

“Meleri is another youngster from the state with a lot of potential and we believe she can continue her development by training and playing around other quality players.

“She had a bit of an injury-interrupted season recently, but has show her qualities when she has been involved with our pre-season trainings and friendly matches. 

“These two additions finalise our squad for the upcoming season and we are really looking forward to taking on Melbourne Victory this weekend.

“Our squad has been training together for a little while now and we are feeling very prepared for Sunday and the rest of the season. 

“We just can’t wait to get things started and play some quality football that the Club and our supporters can be proud of.” 

The Reds also announce the short-term replacements for Charlotte Grant and Emily Hodgson, whom are both on international duty, with Georgia Iannella and Lara Kirkby. 

Adelaide United Westfield W-League 2018/19 squad:
1.Sarah WILLACY, 2.Emily HODGSON, 3.Charlotte GRANT, 4.Georgia IANNELLA, 5.Gunnhildur Jónsdóttir, 6.Georgia CAMPAGNALE, 8.Emily CONDON, 9.Fanndís FRIDRIKSDÓTTIR, 10.Chelsie DAWBER, 11.Laura JOHNS, 12.Veronica LATSKO, 14.Grace ABBEY, 15.Emma CHECKER (C), 16.Dylan HOLMES, 17.Kahlia HOGG, 18.Meleri MULLAN, 20.Sian McLAREN, 21.Lara KIRKBY, 22.Amber BROOKS, 23.Michelle HEYMAN

Adelaide United W-League membership 2018/19