Riley McGree claims Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion Award


Adelaide United midfielder, Riley McGree, has won the Aurelio Vidmar Club Champion Award following a sensational Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season.

This year’s edition, presented by Ignition for Men, was produced in a unique digital setting due to the ongoing public restrictions around the COVID-19 pandemic, with McGree becoming the youngest-ever Reds player to receive the prestigious award.

The 21-year-old returned to the Club in July 2019 and demonstrated why he is so highly regarded within the Australian football landscape due to his ability to influence matches on a consistent basis. 

He scored a team and career-high 10 goals to also collect the Club’s Hyundai A-League Golden Boot, and registered a further five assists in 23 league appearances.

McGree revealed it was a tremendous honour to win the accolade.

“I’m extremely proud to win this award given some of the great players that have won it previously,” McGree said.

“To be the youngest-ever player at the Club to achieve this is also incredibly special and humbling and I guess the reward of hard work. 

“I want to thank my family and my teammates for allowing me to play to the best of my ability. 

“In the end it was a difficult season and disappointing we could not make finals.

“However, the Club’s future looks really promising with so many young, talented players coming through.”

Meanwhile, Mallory Weber was named the Reds’ Westfield W-League Player of the Year for a brilliant campaign with Adelaide United Women.

The American winger signed on-loan with the Reds at the start of the season from National Women’s Soccer League side, Utah Royals, and scored four goals in 11 matches.

Weber said she was delighted to receive the award in her inaugural season at the Club.

“I’m honoured and really appreciative to win this year’s Player of the Year award,” Weber said.

“When I first arrived in Adelaide, from day one I immediately felt welcomed and a part of the team.

“While it was a frustrating season as a collective because I believed the results didn’t reflect our performances, I still really enjoyed my time in Australia and I’d like to thank Ivan Karlović and the Club for the opportunity.”

Those four goals from the wing were enough for the 26-year-old to attain the Club’s Westfield W-League Golden Boot, while also voted Westfield W-League Players’ Player by her teammates. 

Paul Izzo was awarded the Hyundai A-League Players’ Player by his teammates for an outstanding campaign.

The goalkeeper was further presented the RAA Members’ Player of the Year, determined by the Club’s loyal members after gaining the most votes across the season.

Louis D’Arrigo was named the Hyundai A-League Rising Star in the wake of a breakout campaign which saw him thrive in defensive midfield, amassing 21 league matches.

Chelsie Dawber collected the Westfield W-League Rising Star for a fantastic year with AUFC Women, and netted two goals in nine appearances.

The Remo Paris Club Person of the Year went to Team Support Manager, Colin Varacalli, for embodying the Club’s cultural values. 

Lachlan Brook and Taras Gomulka were named as duel winners of the Youth Player of the Year Award.

Nikola Mileusnić’s stunning chest-volley against Wellington Phoenix in Round 8 was voted the Adelaide United Goal of the Year by fans.