Second Season of E-League to kick-off in February


Tickets - Adelaide United vs Western Sydney Wanderers Round 9

Football Federation Australia (FFA) today announced that the second season of Australia’s pioneering national esports league, the E-League, will kick-off on Thursday 21 February 2019 and will once again coincide with the final nine (9) rounds of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19. The E-League 2019 Grand Final is scheduled for Thursday 9 May.

The upcoming E-League season will feature FIFA 19 on both the PS4 and Xbox consoles and will be part of the EA SPORTS FIFA 19 Global Series which serves as part of the qualification process to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2019.

FOX SPORTS will continue as the official TV Broadcast partner of the E-League with coverage on Channel 505 every Thursday night throughout the competition. In addition, all the action will also be streamed live on Twitch.

FFA’s Chief Commercial Officer, Luke Bould, was excited that the E-League will be back bigger and better next year.

“Following the success of the inaugural season, we are really pleased to announce that the E-League will be even better in 2019. Our clubs did a wonderful job in establishing their teams last year and there is already significant discussion about competitor selection for the upcoming season”.

“We are delighted that FOX SPORTS will increase their support as the broadcast partner of the E-League.  Moving our regular season rounds to Fox Sports 505 is a significant commitment, and their expertise in producing world leading coverage is a very significant asset for the competition.”

“To also have EA SPORTS as a partner also provides a valuable connection and a pathway for competitors to qualify for the FIFA eWorld Cup 2019.

“I’m confident that the E-League 2019 Season will be even more exciting than the last as the popularity of esports continues to grow,” concluded Bould.

All Hyundai A-League clubs will be able to contract up to 2 competitors each (PS4 or Xbox). A draft will then be held in January 2019 for clubs to select remaining representatives. In another innovation, clubs will also be able to nominate a substitute competitor in case the nominated competitor is unable to participate, this player will also be selected through the draft process.

The inaugural season of the E-League saw the Sydney FC team of Mark Brijeski (@xMarkoHD) and Samer Elbadar (@Samer96_) take out the Premiership with Samer also claiming the Championship title after defeating Josh Wood (@joshingwood) of Melbourne City FC in the E-League 2018 Grand Final.

As a result, Samer and Josh then received places at the FIFA 18 Global Series Play-Off Event in Amsterdam, the qualification event for the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018


Tickets - Adelaide United vs Western Sydney Wanderers Round 9