Three Reds take home Awards


Three Adelaide United players took home accolades at the annual Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League end of season awards on Monday night.

Tarek Elrich was awarded the Hyundai A-League Goal of the Year for his epic goal in Round 27 v Melbourne City, Jimmy Jeggo won the NAB Young Footballer of the Year and to top off the night, inspirational goalkeeper and Club Captain Eugene Galekovic was awarded the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year for a record fourth time!

Nathan Burns from the Wellington Phoenix claimed the Johnny Warren Medal, the Hyundai A-League’s Players’ Player Award at the gala Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League 2014/15 Awards night which was held at the Carriageworks in Sydney on Monday night

Emily van Egmond took out the Westfield W-League’s highest honour, the Julie Dolan Medal, with George Blackwood ( Sydney FC ) and Liam Youlley ( Western Sydney Wanderers FC ) tying for the title of Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year.

Burns, won the Johnny Warren Medal receiving 577 votes from his playing peers, ahead of Marcelo Carrusca (366 votes), Fahid Ben Khalfallah (307 votes), Kosta Barbarouses (277 votes) and Sergio Cirio (245 points).

James Jeggo was named the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award ahead of Brandon Borello (Brisbane Roar FC), Jamie Maclaren (Perth Glory), Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) and Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers. Jeggo will receive a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Jimmy Jeggo - NAB Award

Melbourne Victory’s Premiership winning Head Coach Kevin Muscat received the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award and Peter McGuinness from the Newcastle Jets was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year.

Sydney FC’s Austrian Marquee player, Marc Janko, took home the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the Hyundai A-League 2014/15 season with 16 goals and Perth Glory’s Kathryn Gill was the Westfield W-League 2014/15 Golden Boot winner courtesy of her 12 goals throughout the season.

Perth Glory’s Samantha Kerr picked up the Westfield W-League’s Players’ Player of the Year Award and Sydney FC’s Amy Harrison was named the Westfield W-League’s Young Player of the Year.

Eugene Galekovic collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award for a record fourth time and Mackenzie Arnold from Perth Glory received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award.


Defender Tarek Elrich scored the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his Round 27 solo effort against Melbourne City FC. Ashleigh Sykes from Canberra United scored the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for her strike against Perth Glory in Round 12.

VIDEO: See Elrich’s stunner right here!

Tarek Elrich celebrates after scoring a stunner against Melbourne City FC.

Wellington Phoenix picked up the Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red card points. Adelaide United won the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award with Brisbane Roar FC winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award.

Jarred Gillet was named the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award for the second time in his career whilst Kate Jacewicz from Brisbane collected the Westfield W-League’s Referee of the Year for the fifth time.

Hyundai A-League 2014/15 Awards
Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year) – Nathan Burns – Wellington Phoenix
NAB Young Footballer of the Year – James Jeggo – Adelaide United
Goalkeeper of the Year – Eugene Galekovic – Adelaide United
Nike Golden Boot Award – Marc Janko – Sydney FC (16 Goals)
Goal of the Year – Tarek Elrich – Adelaide United (Round 27 v Melbourne City FC)
Coach of the Year – Kevin Muscat – Melbourne Victory
Fair Play Award – Wellington Phoenix
Referee of the Year – Jarred Gillett
Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year – George Blackwood (Sydney FC) and Liam Youlley (Western Sydney Wanderers FC)
Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award – Brisbane Roar FC

Westfield W-League 2014/15 Awards
Julie Dolan Medal – Emily van Egmond – Newcastle Jets
Young Player of the Year Award – Amy Harrison – Sydney FC
Players Player of the Year – Samantha Kerr – Perth Glory
Goalkeeper of the Year – Mackenzie Arnold – Perth Glory
Goal of the Year – Ashleigh Sykes – Canberra United (Round 12)
Coach of the Year – Peter McGuinness – Newcastle Jets
Golden Boot Award – Kathryn Gill – Perth Glory (12 goals)
Fair Play Award – Adelaide United
Referee of the Year – Kate Jacewicz