Veart announces extended squad for Western United opener

Tomi Juric

United We Are Membership 2020/21 banner

Carl Veart has named his preliminary squad for Adelaide United’s first game of the A-League 2020/21 season against Western United on Monday night.

The Reds travel to Geelong looking to begin their campaign on a positive note against last season’s semi-finalists.

Striker, Tomi Juric, is in line to feature for the Club for the first time since 2013. 

Meanwhile, the likes of James Delianov, George Timotheou, Joe Caletti, Yaya Dukuly and Javi López are a chance of making their Reds debuts.

Ryan Kitto and Yared Abetew are unavailable for the clash, as to is Al Hassan Toure who is nearing a return to action after suffering an ankle injury in training a few months.

Adelaide United squad: 1.James DELIANOV (gk), 2.Michael MARRONE, 3.George TIMOTHEOU, 4.Ryan STRAIN, 6.Louis D’ARRIGO, 8.Stefan MAUK (c), 9.Tomi JURIC, 15.Noah SMITH, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Mohamed TOURE, 18.Joe CALETTI, 19.Yaya DUKULY, 21.Javi LÓPEZ, 22.Michael JAKOBSEN, 23.Jordan ELSEY, 24.Pacifique NIYONGABIRE, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 29.Kusini YENGI, 33.Dakota OCHSENHAM (gk), 37.Jonny YULL
**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: nil
Outs: nil
Unavailable: 7.Ryan KITTO (groin), 34.Yared ABETEW (knee), 35.Al Hassan TOURE (ankle)

Adelaide United face Western United in Matchweek 1 of the A-League 2020/21 season on Monday, 28 December at GMHBA Stadium. Kick-off is at 6.35pm ACDT. Live and Exclusive on Fox Sports, Kayo Sports and the MyFootball Live App.

Adelaide United vs Melbourne City January 3 tickets