Verbeek names his first Hyundai A-League squad for season opener


Adelaide United v Sydney FC Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Round 1

Adelaide United Head Coach, Gertjan Verbeek, has named his extended squad for the Reds’ Round 1 opener against Sydney FC at Coopers Stadium on Friday night.

The Reds kick off the new season against the Sky Blues in what is expected to be an interesting contest with the Dutchman nearly having a full squad to choose from.

Kristian Opseth, Al Hassan Toure, and Michaël Maria are all a chance to make their league debuts for the club.

Meanwhile, another new signing in Riley McGree has been included after last playing a league match for the Reds in 2017.

However, goalkeeper Daniel Marguš is unavailable for selection as he is on international duty with the Olyroos.

Adelaide United squad: 2.Michael MARRONE, 4.Ryan STRAIN, 5.Michaël MARIA, 6.Vince LIA, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Riley McGREE, 11.Kristian OPSETH, 14.George BLACKWOOD, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN (c), 23.Jordan ELSEY, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 27.Louis D’ARRIGO, 30.Isaac RICHARDS (gk), 31.Mirko BOLAND, 35.Al Hassan TOURE
**two to be omitted**

Ins: nil
Outs: nil
Unavailable: 1.Daniel MARGUŠ (international duty)

Adelaide United host Sydney FC in Round 1 of the Hyundai A-League 2019/20 season on Friday, 11 October at Coopers Stadium. Kick-off is at 7.00pm ACDT. Live and Exclusive on Fox Sports, Kayo Sports and the My Football Live App.

Adelaide United 5-Game Flexi Membership