Vidosic withdrawn from Socceroos squad due to injury


Qantas Socceroos Coach Holger Osieck today confirmed that Dario Vidosic had been withdrawn from the upcoming tournament in Hong Kong due to a knee injury.

Qantas Socceroos Head Coach Holger Osieck has confirmed that Dario Vidosic had been withdrawn from his squad for the East Asian Football Federation (EAFF) East Asian Cup 2013 qualifying tournament due to a knee injury.

At this stage no additional player has been called in to replace Vidosic.

The Qantas Socceroos assembled in Sydney today for a pre-tournament camp that will run from 26-29 November before departing for Hong Kong on Friday 30 November. Osieck will name his final squad that will travel to the tournament on Thursday 29 November.

The teams that will participate in the EAFF East Asian Cup for men are Japan, Korea Republic & China PR with a fourth team determined by a qualification process. The qualifiers for the men-s edition of the EAFF East Asian Cup 2013 will be played in Hong Kong from 1-9 December 2012 and will involve teams from Australia, Chinese-Taipei, Guam, Hong Kong & DPR Korea.

The EAFF East Asian Cup 2013 will be held concurrently in Seoul, Korea Republic from 20-28 July 2013.

Qantas Socceroos Squad
Terry ANTONIS (Sydney FC), Eli BABALJ (FK Crvena Zvezda Beograd, SERBIA), Aziz BEHICH (Melbourne Heart FC), Robert CORNTHWAITE (Chunnam Dragons, KOREA REPUBLIC), Dino DJULBIC (Guizhou Renhe, CHINA PR), Ivan FRANJIC (Brisbane Roar), Brett EMERTON (Sydney FC), Eugene GALEKOVIC (gk) (Adelaide United FC), Richard GARCIA (Melbourne Heart FC), Rostyn GRIFFITHS (Guangzhou R&F, CHINA), Ben HALLORAN (Brisbane Roar), Scott JAMIESON (Perth Glory FC), Osama MALIK (Adelaide United FC), Michael MARRONE (Melbourne Heart), Matt McKAY (Busan I Park), Mark MILLIGAN (Melbourne Victory), Aaron MOOY (Western Sydney Wanderers), Tom ROGIC (Central Coast Mariners), Mat RYAN (gk) (Central Coast Mariners), Matt SMITH (Brisbane Roar), Adam TAGGART (Newcastle Jets), Archie THOMPSON (Melbourne Victory), Michael THWAITE (Perth Glory), Luke WILKSHIRE (FK Dinamo Moscow, RUSSIA)