W-League Draw released


The draw for the Westfield W-League 2013/14 Season has been released with the season to kick off on the 9/10 November 2013.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) has released the draw for the Westfield W-League 2013/14 Season with the opening round to be played on the weekend of the 9/10 November 2013.

For the full fixture schedule please visit www.w-league.com.au.

Following on from last season-s revamped format, the Westfield W-League 2013/14 season will again be played over 12 rounds with the top four teams advancing to the Westfield W-League 2014 Finals Series, which will be played over two weekends. The Westfield W-League 2014 Grand Final will be played on Sunday 23 February 2014.

The Head of Westfield W-League, Damien de Bohun, said today he-s delighted that Australia-s premier women-s football competition will feature not only Australia-s best female footballers, but also some of the best players from around the world.

“Over the past five Westfield W-League seasons we have seen the competition grow from strength to strength showcasing the best female footballers from Australia and also featuring players from 14 other countries around the world so far,” said De Bohun.

“This trend is set to continue and we are genuinely excited about the calibre of players and standard of football on offer for this coming season.

De Bohun predicted that the 2013/14 Westfield W-League draw would produce another season of great football entertainment.

“Last season-s epic Westfield W-League Grand Final at AAMI Park which saw Sydney FC defeat Melbourne Victory was a fantastic showcase of the competition,” said de Bohun.

“The new season draw has been developed in consultation with the clubs and we believe it-s fair and equitable within all the variables we have been dealing with.”

De Bohun said that Melbourne Victory is currently in the final stages of negotiations regarding venues for the season and a decision would be made soon.

A formal announcement regarding ABC TV-s broadcast of the Westfield W-League is expected shortly.

Westfield W-League 2013/14 Snapshot:

  • Westfield W-League 2013/14 Season to kick off on Saturday 9 November when the Newcastle Jets host Perth Glory at Wanderers Oval, Broadmeadow
    Round 1 to also feature a Grand Final rematch between Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC
  • Two Competition breaks on the weekend of 23/24 November and 28/29 December 2013
  • Adelaide United to play first Westfield W-League match at The Shores, West Beach (v Western Sydney Wanderers)
  • Sydney FC to play first Westfield W-League match at WIN Jubilee Oval, Kogarah (v Perth Glory)
  • Western Sydney Wanderers to play first Westfield W-League matches at Marconi Stadium (v Adelaide United) and Centrebet Stadium, Penrith (v Newcastle Jets)
  • 51 matches in total = 48 regular season matches + 2 Semi-Finals + Westfield W-League Grand Final
  • Westfield W-League 2014 Finals Series will see the first placed team host the fourth placed team, and the second placed team host the third placed team. The winner of the each Westfield W-League 2014 Semi-Final will advance to the Westfield W-League 2014 Grand Final which will be hosted by the higher ranked of the two teams.