Westfield W-League season preview: Adelaide United


In the first of our Westfield W-League team previews we take a look at the prospects for Adelaide United under new coach Jamie Harnwell.

Adelaide United face a hugely challenging season following two years of stability under Ross Aloisi. The Lady Reds have held onto few players from last season, losing a significant amount of experience in the process.

Entering amidst all of this change is coach Jamie Harnwell. But if anyone thrives amid a challenge it is Harnwell who was renowned for his resolute spirit as a player, and in more recent years on the sideline, culminating in that memorable premiership win at the Glory last season.

Among the headline names out the exit gate are Westfield Matildas goalkeeping icon Melissa Barbieri, veteran Kristy Moore, Denmark legend Katrine Pedersen and young gun Alexandra Chidiac. On the positive side of the ledger, Adelaide will rely heavily on USA imports – goalkeeper Sarah Killion from Sky Blue FC and defender Abby Dahlkemper from Western New York Flash.

Returnees to the Westfield W-League after a season away are Lorena Maggio, Marijana Rajcic and Rosie Sutton, the latter having scored crucial goals for Perth Glory over several seasons under Harnwell. Locals Emily Condon, Georgia Campagnale, Lauren Steer and Tiarn Powell are among a handful of those backing up from last season for the Lady Reds.

Unlike some other seasons, the draw hasn’t been particularly kind to Adelaide for whom seven matches are against last season’s finals quartet. Adelaide United are still searching for their first taste of finals action, and they face a massive challenge if they are to break that run this term.

Adelaide United
Ins: Abby Dahlkemper (Western New York Flash, USA), Alexandra Gummer (Melbourne Victory), Allira Toby (Brisbane Olympic, Queensland), Chantelle Ryder (Eastern Suburbs, Queensland), Claudia Jenkins (SA NTC), Grace Abbey (SA NTC), Kaitlyn Savage (Glenfield Rovers, New Zealand), Elizabeth Milne (Glenfield Rovers, New Zealand), Lorena Maggio (Western Pride, Queensland), Marijana Rajcic (Metro United, South Australia), Matilda McNamara (SA NTC), Rosie Sutton (Eastern Suburbs, Queensland), Sarah Killion (Sky Blue FC, USA), Gabrielle Bentley (Sturt Lions, South Australia), Nora Peat (SA NTC)

Outs: Alexandra Chidiac (Melbourne City), Isabel Hodgson (East Tennessee State University, USA), Dylan Holmes (Colgate University, USA), Katie Holtham (UK), Monique Iannella (Melbourne City), Jenna McCormick (Canberra United), Kristy Moore (retired), Katrine Pedersen (retired), Melissa Barbieri (Melbourne Victory), Rachel Alonso (Bundoora United, Victoria), Daila-Tais Borg, Danielle Brogan (Perth Glory), Jessie Wharepouri (Northern Tigers, NSW), Lisa-Marie Woods (BIIK-Kazygurt, Kazakhstan