Young Reds play out entertaining 2-2 draw with Brisbane


Adelaide United vs Brisbane Roar tickets

Adelaide United Youth was forced to settle for a 2-2 draw against Brisbane Roar Youth at Eric Evans Reserve on Sunday.

The Young Reds opened the scoring early through Ninko Beric and then re-took the lead via Pacifique Niyongabire with five minutes remaining.

However, Adelaide’s advantage was only fleeting with Shannon Brady equalising two minutes later in the stifling conditions.

Head Coach, Paul Pezos, fielded a strong line-up for the Round 3 Foxtel Y-League match, but was without Carlo Armiento, who travelled with the senior side to Wellington.

After squandering an effort two minutes earlier, Beric made no mistake in the sixth minute to open his account for the season with a thunderous strike.

Brisbane then enjoyed the better of the chances and were relentless going forward without finding the breakthrough.

Mirza Muratovic and Brady were the Young Roar’s most dangerous in attack, but it was Jay Barnett who came the closest to restoring parity when his low drive caught Daniel Marguš scrambling.

Louis D'Arrigo

Muratovic continued to threaten after half-time but was wasteful in front of goal.

The Roar then netted an equaliser courtesy of Daniel Leck finishing off an incisive forward move.  

The Young Reds thought they had won the match when the lively Niyongabire got his head on the end of a set-piece to make it 2-1 in the 85th minute.

Though the lead was virtually immediately cancelled out by Brady. The 22-year-old steered home his shot from Lleyton Brooks’ cross.

There was still time for some late drama, with both sides having glorious opportunities to net a winner.

Taras Gomulka saw his attempt saved from close range, before the hosts believed they had scored in the third minute of stoppage time only for it be swiftly ruled out for offside.

The result sees the Young Reds remain unbeaten to start the season.

Match details:
Sunday, 25 November 2018
Foxtel Y-League 2018/19 – Round 3
Brisbane Roar 2 (Leck 63’ Brady 87’)
Melbourne Victory 2 (Beric 6’ Niyongabire 85’)
Venue: Eric Evans Reserve
Attendance: 500

Adelaide United vs Brisbane Roar tickets